Guess who’s got a new camera

We’ve been looking at upgrading my underwater camera setup for the past two years.  Phil has researched and researched.  He has shown me many different options, from large professional kits to the semi-pro cameras and their associated underwater housings.  But I hadn’t seen anything that would equal what I already had, until now !!

The old camera

An Olympus UZ550 with the custom Olympus underwater housing and the associated macro lens.  The thing I loved about this setup was that while underwater I could add and remove the macro lens and lens clip allowing me to take macro and wide-angle photos on the one dive.

UZ550 Underwater Housing

UZ550 Underwater Housing.

This photo gives you an idea of the size of the camera and underwater housing.

This photo gives you an idea of the size of the camera and underwater housing.

The new Camera

A Sony RX100 with a Recsea underwater housing.  And I just love it.  It is so much smaller with a load more features and I can still take macro and wide-angle photos on the same dive.

Screenshot 2014-07-21 13.17.10

RECSEA WHS RX100

Look how much smaller this camera is.

Lynda at Steve’s bommie, GBR.  Look how much smaller this camera is.  My hands completely cover it.

 

I wonder if we will notice an improvement in my photos?

 

This entry was posted in Diving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guess who’s got a new camera

  1. Barbara and dave swaine says:

    Should make it a lot easier . Hope the photos are as good if nit much much better

    Like

  2. Looks like an awesome camera! I just quickly looked it up and its exactly the type of thing I have been looking for. If I ever get rid of my flying camera, maybe I will consider buying one of these. The case is really expensive though! Even more then the camera itself.

    Like

Comments are closed.