Finally, a Koala in the wild

Ever since we started our adventure I have wanted to see a koala in the wild.  When we are walking through the bush I am constantly looking up into the trees, but which eucalyptus trees should I be looking in?  It’s not that easy, they all look pretty much the same.  I mentioned this to Barb (our friend in Newcastle) so she took me to Blackbutt Reserve in Newcastle, a place where I was guaranteed to see a koala.

blackbutt-reserve-koala2

OK, so that one is in captivity.

However, just the other day while driving from Proston to Murgon (chasing spare parts for our hotwater system) in Queensland we did see a koala in the wild, only I didn’t have my camera, so this photo, taken with the iPad, will have to suffice.

Wild-Koala

 

This entry was posted in On the road, Queensland and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.