Nelson Bay’s Blue-ringed octopus

We have spotted two blue-ringed octopus while diving at Nelson Bay.  These octopus are quite small, they will fit in the palm of your hand, and are very very poisonous.  In fact they are among one of the deadliest creatures in our oceans.  I have done a little research and now that I know a little more about them, I will definitely think twice before I get too close when taking photos.

Blue-ringed Octopus at the Pipeline, Nelson Bay

Blue-ringed Octopus at the Pipeline, Nelson Bay

Blue-ringed Octopus at Little Beach, Nelson Bay

Blue-ringed Octopus at Little Beach, Nelson Bay

This entry was posted in Diving, Nelson Bay, NSW Coastline and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nelson Bay’s Blue-ringed octopus

  1. Sarah Sweeney says:

    They are beautiful! But I can’t believe you got that close, I would freak out.

    Like

  2. azuredivers says:

    wow! that is just amazing how close you got … with steady hands 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.