GBR live-aboard Day3 – Manicure on the Reef

Day 3 on the Great Barrier Reef and again the weather was picture perfect.  The first dive of the day was at 6:00am on a site called the Play Ground.  We have dived this site many many times and know exactly were to find the interesting critters.

Just to prove how good the dive conditions were, this photo was taken at a depth 20 metres.

Clear water:  we are on the sand at 20 metres and we could see all of Ocean Quest

Clear water: we are on the sand at 20 metres and we could see all of Ocean Quest, including the 3 levels above the water.

We then headed straight to one of the coral bommies under the boat for a manicure.

manicure

Ambon Cleaner Shrimp: As soon as I put my hand down these little guys went to work.

Unfortunately, there were other customers, and this particular customer had not intention of waiting.  It moved into the same hole – while I was having my manicure.

getting-cleaned1

Ambon Cleaner Shrimp inside the Coral Trout’s mouth

Ambon Cleaner Shrimp and Coral Trout

Ambon Cleaner Shrimp and Coral Trout:  The trout wasn’t the least bit bothered by us.

We must have spent 30 minutes or more looking around this bommie, there is just so much to see.

Common Lionfish

Common Lionfish

Giant Moray Eel

Giant Moray Eel

Goby and shrimp:  I did not notice the shrimp when I took the photo.

Goby and shrimp: I did not notice the shrimp when I took the photo.

Banded cleanr shrimp:  These guys weren't so eager to clean my nails.

Banded cleaner shrimp: This guy wasn’t so eager to clean my nails.

And that was just the morning dive……

This entry was posted in Diving, Great Barrier Reef & Coral Sea and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to GBR live-aboard Day3 – Manicure on the Reef

  1. Amazing! Thank you so much for sharing. It’s been my goal for a long time to learn to scuba dive so this is some great inspiration.

    Like

Comments are closed.